Home Law Schools Facts About Southwestern Law School

Facts About Southwestern Law School

Facts About Southwestern Law School

Southwestern Law
School is located in Los Angeles, California that was established in 1911 under
the name Southwestern College of Law. The school was originally founded by John
J. Schumacher, which was meant to be a non-profit institution with the goal of
including women and minorities in law school education. The Southwestern Law
School would eventually be recognized as a university establishment in 1913,
which allowed it to also include other disciplines and study programs.

Currently, the Southwestern Law School is comprised with nearly 1,000 students
and a faculty of about 150. The Southwestern Law School is not affiliated with
any other universities and does not have undergraduate programs. The
Southwestern Law School has also received much appraisal, such as being ranked
11th among the best universities for diversity. It is also considered to be
among the top 100 law schools in the nation, providing for employment
percentages of 85% of those graduating the school’s law program.

The campus is located near downtown Los Angeles, consisting mostly of two
buildings, the Westmoreland Building and the Bullocks Wilshire Building. The
campus currently does not provide for on campus housing facilities, so all of
the students are all commuters.

There are various programs of study offered at the Southwestern Law School,
though the traditional program is structured around a full time curriculum that
is to be completed within three years of study. The various aspects of laws are
covered in their diverse Jurid Doctor programs, such as criminal law,
entertainment law, business law, family law, and international law.